Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Bangkok’s Fotofile Camera Shop at MBK Shopping Center

with 11 comments

Fotofile is one of the world’s greatest camera shops.  Not only do they have a large inventory of new and used cameras, they have accessories of every type in stock. They have at least three outlets at MBK. I travel frequently and I have never run across a more complete store. Including Singapore and Hong Kong.  And their prices are competitive.  If you are a tourist, you will get a 7% VAT rebate when you depart Thailand.

See Platial map in right sidebar for location.  And this link for prices.

MBK Shopping Center

MBK Shopping Center

Fotofile main store, 3rd Floor, MBK

Fotofile main store, 3rd Floor, MBK

Written by leolaksi

August 12, 2008 at 7:00 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi!

    can you pls tell me if it is possible to buy a digital camera from the airport of Bangkok?

    Sakari Mannikko

    November 19, 2008 at 7:15 pm

  2. Hi Sakari. The airport has a large selection of cameras, both point and shoot and Sony DSLR’s. Also a large selection of videocams.

    leolaksi

    November 19, 2008 at 7:21 pm

  3. Hi,
    I am interested to get a used camera canon 5d. How i can check the used camera price before my visit from Malaysia?

    -Brian

    brian loke

    January 30, 2009 at 11:03 pm

  4. I was wondering if you could give me the ways to find the rates of latest cameras, i am also a reseller in Bhutan.

    Karma Yonten

    July 24, 2009 at 12:59 pm

  5. Hi,

    can you tell me if fotofile sells 35mm photographic film, & roughly how much for?
    also, do they do developing of 35mm film? how much?

    ashlee

    August 25, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    • Hi Ashlee,

      Fotofile does sell 35mm film but I don’t have an idea what the prices are. They will develop film but again, i don’t know the prices. In general, processing of film is cheaper in Thailand than the US and Europe. Sorry I couldn’t answer your questions.

      Leo

      leolaksi

      August 25, 2009 at 8:32 pm

  6. I will like to Know how much cost one Panasonic Lumix Dmc Tz7 in MBK Shopping Center, if someoane cann help me please send me email. I will aprecied all emails about that.

    Florian

    florinschoenemann@hotmail.de

    florian

    September 17, 2009 at 5:20 am

    • same q here

      I will like to Know how much cost one Panasonic Lumix Dmc Tz7 in MBK Shopping Center, if someoane cann help me please send me email. I will aprecied all emails about that.

      Anders

      December 9, 2009 at 1:20 am

  7. Hello I was looking for the Panasonic Tz7 today at MBK and the lowest price was.. 15:000 bath = about 325 Euro… crazy because in Nl I can get it for 225 euro.. Good luck.! Panasonic is maybe not the best brand to buy in MBK (BK) but I love the camera.. mine died a couple off days ago.

    rene

    June 2, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    • Camera prices can significantly differ from market to market and it is good if you know your prices. Sometimes MBK can be a bit high so you have to bargain hard and visit more than one shop. And remember you will get 7% VAT refund at the airport.

      Sometimes shops offering gray market camera have the best prices. Also check out Fortune Tower.

      I also like the Panasonic line and have a couple that are hard to beat including the GF1.

      leolaksi

      June 4, 2010 at 8:48 am


Leave a Reply

