Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Leica M8 joining M6

with 6 comments

In black & white

In black & white

A few days ago I bought a new camera.  I have been looking at the M8 for a couple of years.  I’ve had the M6 for eight years and thoroughly enjoyed the camera in the days before digital cameras overtook and dominated the camera market.  The M6 was not my first Leica.  I even had a Leica III before I bought my first SLR, the Nikon F1 Photomic.  In the digital world, I started out with the Canon 10D then moved to the 5D.  However, I got to the point where my camera equipment became very bulky and heavy.  That’s where the M8 comes in.  I already had four Leica lenses and this made it easier to buy the body.  And the M8 and four lenses are very compact indeed.

However, I will have to relearn the Leica.  It is a manual camera. No auto exposure, no auto focus.  All manual.

And which camera did I use to take this photo?  Canon 5D with 70-200 mm f2.8 L IS.  Gitzo 1228 tripod.

Line up

Line up

Written by leolaksi

September 12, 2008 at 11:28 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sweeeeeettttt

    😀

    looking forward to seeing some great pictures

    Juan

    September 13, 2008 at 12:38 am

  2. Nice Camera… hope you’ll like it

    hackspot

    September 13, 2008 at 12:56 am

  3. It will take some work to get used to the old way of doing things. Mainly more thinking re depth of field and prefocus. I have also been spolied by the modern SLR where high ISO allowed low light shots to be hand held.

    leolaksi

    September 13, 2008 at 5:39 am

  4. You got a new toy. Huh~

    Do'Re'Me'

    September 13, 2008 at 4:30 pm

  5. yup:)

    leolaksi

    September 13, 2008 at 6:58 pm

  6. Please show us pictures from your new Leica M8

    Tiamtanong

    September 13, 2008 at 7:31 pm


Leave a Reply

