Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Roaming Samui – holiday for a few days

with 3 comments

Dawn for the fisherman

Dawn for the fisherman

I’m down in Koh Samui for a  little rest and recreation.  It’s been a hectic month that included getting stranded in Singapore when the Suvannabhumi International Airport in Bangkok was closed due to its takeover by protesters.  This led to a 2000 km road trip from Singapore to Bangkok.

I’ve been coming to Samui for 13 years and I always find my way to Chaweng Beach.  Although Chaweng is heavily developed, I still find it one of the more interesting destinations on Samui.  It is still possible to find beachfront hotels in every price range.   And there are enough conveniences to make it a low impact destination.   The “strip” is wall to wall restaurants, stores, fastfood restaurants, retail shops and souvenir shops. But to me, this is ok.  It’s a lot of fun to walk the strip and people watch.

In the next week, I will report on restaurants that I visited and information about the hotel where I stayed.

Chaweng Beach

Chaweng Beach

The other way

The other way

Next door

Next door

Written by leolaksi

December 22, 2008 at 6:41 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks very relaxing, just what you need.

    Grayman

    December 23, 2008 at 8:22 am

  2. It was our first wedding anniversary and I wanted to take my wife for a holiday to Thailand. But choosing a good hotel in a new place was difficult. So, I decided to surf internet and looked for an option available. I came across Eden Rock Villa (http://www.edenrok.com/), which was a villa near Samui Beach. The location was breathtaking and the villa had superb interiors. I booked the villa immediately, and you won’t believe that staying at such a place made our holiday more exciting.

    Jack

    December 27, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  3. Thanks for the info. I’ll check it out. Cheers, Leo

    leolaksi

    December 27, 2008 at 7:47 pm


Leave a Reply

