Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Amphawa Floating Market – Stalking with the Noctilux.

with 2 comments

amphawazeisscook1

Sometimes the difference between a successful street photographer and a not so successful photographer is a matter of finding a location from which you can observe other people and their activities.  If you’re constantly in motion, walking aimlessly, then it can be difficult to settle on one image or scene that you wish to capture with your camera.

Look for a location that affords you a good vantage point,  settle in, and take in the ebb and flow of the movement around you.  Blend into the environment.

If you sit or stand long enough, you will begin to visualize images that could lead to a very successful shoot.

Several months ago, I was at the floating market at Amphawa, Thailand.  Walking the boardwalk,  I found a bench from which I could observe the people walking by.  I sat for a few minutes, looked around and decided that the large pots in the foreground might be a good subject what with the late afternoon sunlight and strolling people.  I sat there for about five minutes, took a handful of photos and then I moved on to another location where I did the same thing.  And so on.

When I first sat down people noticed me taking photos including the vendor on the left side of some of the photos.  After a minute or so, she paid me no mind.  I had blended into the scene.

The above photo was taken with a Leica M8 and Carl Zeiss Biogon 21mm f/2.8 lens.  The following photos were taken with a Noctilux 50mm f/1 lens.

amphawacouplecam

amphawagraydress

amphawablackbag

amphawajeans

amphawamomandson

Written by leolaksi

April 3, 2009 at 6:40 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,
    Just a brief note to you how much I enjoy your work. My favourites are the back and white shots but they are all unique in subject and location.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

    Maureen

    April 4, 2009 at 11:10 am

    • Thanks Maureen. I used to shoot only b&w but have become so enamored with color, especially in Thailand, that it’s hard to go back. But I’m trying! Leo

      leolaksi

      April 4, 2009 at 12:22 pm


Leave a Reply

