Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

More photos at Tokyo DisneySea with Panasonic Lumix G1

leave a comment »

mythicaprettyblueinback

I’ve had a Panasonic Lumix G1 since January and I’ve discovered that its a very handy piece of gear that easy to carry, especially when traveling.  On a recent trip I relied on my Leica M8 for the majority of my photos but the longest lens in my traveling M8 kit is the Summilux 75mm f/1.4 lens which with the M8’s crop factor of 1.3 is equivalent to 100mm in 35mm format.

On this particular day I also carried the G1 with its optional image stabilized 45-200mm f/4-5.6 zoom lens which has an effective range of 90-400mm.  Not only is the G1 a tiny DSLR, this lens is very compact, so much so that I was able to carry both the M8 with a Carl Zeiss Biogon 21mm f/2.8 lens and the G1 and lens in the same bag, the small Billingham Hadley.

thonglorlumixorig

billinghamhadleysmall

The G1 saved the day as there was no way I could get close to the show to take closeups of the action.  The show photos ranged from 107 -334mm effective range.  Although the lens isn’t that fast the image stabilization managed even to steady the lens extended to 334mm.  (And as I noted in other recent postings, some photos to 422mm.)

The show photos in this posting were all shot in jpeg.  Handheld.  No tripod.

mythicaorangegirl

mythicabutterflylookup

mythicadrum1

Written by leolaksi

April 26, 2009 at 6:40 am

Leave a Reply

