Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Think Tank Photo “Streetwalker” photo backpack

with 5 comments

Streetwalker with Leica M8

Streetwalker with Leica M8

[Check out my posting re: the “Think Tank “Streetwalker Pro”.  For photos showing the size difference between the two, check this out.]

Over the years I’ve worked my way through enough photo backpacks to supply an army of photographers.  From practically every brand.  Lowe Pro, Kata, Crumpler, and Tenba to name a few.  I’ve even pressed some smaller non-photo backpacks into duty that rivaled some of the aforementioned.

Padded back and straps

Padded back and straps

Some of the photo packs were too small, some didn’t have enough padding and some were just plain uncomfortable.

Last year I purchased a Think Tank Streetwalker Pro.  This was my first Think Tank product and I was very impressed with its design, comfort and detailing.  In fact I had never seen a better looking photo backpack.  (The Pro is slightly larger than the standard Streetwalker that is the subject of this posting.)  The only downside of the Pro for me was its size.  Although the design is very compact, for my purposes, it was slightly too large.  Talking about inches in each direction.

The Streetwalker series comes in three sizes with the largest capable of holding a laptop but I decided against the largest simply because I wasn’t looking for a larger pack.

For me the smallest Streetwalker is perfect.  Although smallish in size and relatively narrow in width it is capable of swallowing practically most photographer’s kit.  For example, as shown in the photo below, the pack holds:

Nikon D700

Nikkor AFS 14-24mm f/2.8G IF ED zoom lens

Nikkor AFS 24-70mm f/2.8G IF ED zoom lens

Nikkor AF 80-200mm f/2.8D  ED zoom lens

Nikkor AF DC 135mm f/2 D lens

Nikkor AF 85mm f/1.8D lens

Pack with D700 and five lenses

Pack with D700 and five lenses

Now normally I don’t carry five Nikkor lenses.  Either the 85mm or 135mm is left at the office.  And in it’s place is… another camera, the Leica M8 with Summicron 35mm f/2 lens.  So in total, I usually carry two cameras and five lenses in the bag.  Not bad huh?

But there’s more. The exterior of the pack has four zippered compartments capable of holding other accessories and odd and ends such as your wallet, mobile phone and keys.  In addition, the interior side of the main zippered flap also has two large zippered compartments capable of holding even more gear.  Further, the pack comes with straps that allow you to fasten a tripod vertically.  However,  note one significant difference between the Pro and this version.  The Pro has a “pocket” that unfolds from the bottom of the pack that holds the tripod feet; the Streetwalker does not.  To me this difference does not bother me in the least.

Zippered interior compartments

Zippered interior compartments

But you should look at the Think Tank backpack as part of a system.  You can buy optional bags and accessories that attach to the pack.  Note that another difference between the Pro and the Streetwalker is your ability to attach a fully padded Pro Speedbelt or accessory bags to the Pro while you can not with the Streetwalker.

Photos taken with Nikon D700 and 24-70mm f/2.8 lens and Leica M8 and Summicron 35mm f/2 lens.

Written by leolaksi

July 8, 2009 at 6:50 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thanks for the review! you’re right, you’re the only one that has pics of them side by side! thanks!!

    huey

    May 27, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  2. Thank you for the review and the beautiful pictures. I have much of the same gear and your reviews of the Streetwalker and Streetwalker Pro have helped me to make a decision to purchase one of the two packs. I only have one question to pull the trigger on a purchase. Will the smaller Streetwalker fit a Mamiya RZ67 with one or two lenses? Unfortunately none of the retail locations near me carry Think Tank gear and while I can purchase both and keep one, I’d like to avoid this and not take advantage of the very generous return policies of Adorama, Calumet, etc.

    Sam

    June 4, 2010 at 7:35 am

    • Hi Sam,

      I used to have an RB67 (however before I had the Streetwalker). Remember it fondly. The RZ67’s dimensions are 8.4 inches (L) by 4.25 (W) by 5.2 (H). It will fit although you may have to place the camera on its side in the pack. You will have to rearrange the dividers to better fit your gear.

      I usually carry a D700 whose dimensions are 5.8 inches (W) by 4.5 (H) by 3 (L). With the attached 70-200 mm f/2.8 the length is approx 11.3 inches. This length is not a problem so your gear should be ok. I can also pack the D700 with the motor drive attached. It’s a bit tight as the height could be around 5.5 inches or taller but it still works.

      FYI, I usually carry a D300s with attached 70-200mm f/2.8, a D700 body, 24-70mm f/2.8, 14-24mm f/2.8, 16mm f/2.8 fisheye and detached motor drive in the Streetwalker.

      Leo

      leolaksi

      June 4, 2010 at 8:44 am

    • Sam,

      I had a chance to fit a RB67 in the Streetwalker today. It fits with room to spare although the capacity to store a second lens will depend on the lens. I will try to post a photo later today.

      Leo

      leolaksi

      June 11, 2010 at 11:03 am

      • Leo,

        I purchased the Streetwalker Pro and I was able to fit the RZ-67 with room to spare. Thanks for taking the time to post the review and comparison. It helped me to make my decision and I appreciate it.

        Sam

        Sam

        June 14, 2010 at 2:27 am


Leave a Reply

