Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Worldwide Photo Walk in Bangkok Chinatown Revisited

leave a comment »

Dried squidman

Dried squidman

Some of these photos were taken during the photo walk while others were taken later after a bite of food and a great foot massage.  I hadn’t had this amount of fun in a long time and I think others in my group felt the same way.  If I had my way, I would spend even more time but even the best events have to end some time.

Walking through Chinatown it was easy to find subjects to shoot.  The difficulty was figuring out how best to capture that image.  I spotted the dried squid vendor above joking around with a friend of his that was out of the frame.  Trying to figure out the best way to frame and then take the photograph, he suddenly turned his head with that grin on the face.  I couldn’t have planned that.  I gave him a big smile and a thank you and I was on my way.

During the late night walk, we decided to detour off the main street.   We suddenly found ourselves watching this older man using a hand cart in the alley.  Although he wasn’t the biggest of men, he was muscular and glistening with sweat. Then I saw the other man further along in the alley and then I took the photo.  Although the photo shows camera movement, it’s my belief it’s better to capture that moment in time then miss it forever.  [Note:  this photo was taken at 1/13 second at f/2.8.]

Hard working

Hard working

The following two photos were captured during the walk and show skewered pigs before they were roasted and then one being roasted.  These photos were a fluke.  We were walking to the rendezvous point and I happened to glance over and in the thinnest sliver of an alley I spotted the pigs.  Of course, I made a beeline and then spotted another pig being charcoal roasted.

Dinner

Dinner

Roasting pig

Roasting pig

All the above photos were taken with a Nikon D700 and Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8 lens.  The following was taken with a Leica M8 and Summicron 35mm f/2.8 lens and shot from the hip prefocused at 1.5 meters.


Group of four

Group of four

Written by leolaksi

July 21, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

