Leo Laksi’s Bangkok And Back

Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Sailboats getting ready to race in Hua Hin – D700 with 24-70mm f/2.8 zoom lens

with 4 comments

Hobie Cats going out to race in Hua Hin

Hobie Cats going out to race in Hua Hin

I didn’t go to Hua Hin to shoot a sailboat regatta.  In fact I had never shot or even thought to shoot sailboats.    But once I got to the beach and noticed that preparations were being made to launch a number of sailboats, I just had to give it a try.  I only had my Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8 zoom lens which doesn’t give me much range when trying to capture the race itself.  Nor did I have a boat to get me closer to the action.  All I had was my two feet on the beach and in the water.  I knew I had to fill the frame to make it more interesting.

The photos turned out very colorful, what with the color of the sails on many of the boats.  To make things just a little different I decided to to go retro and convert to black and white.  All photos are uncropped and with minimal post-processing (beyond conversion to b&w).

Photos were taken with a Nikon D700 and Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8 zoom lens.  All images are uncropped.

Same as above in black and white

Same as above in black and white

Two boats launching

Two boats launching

Two boats launching

Two boats launching

Ready to go

Ready to go

Ready to go

Ready to go

Push

Push

Push

Push

Written by leolaksi

August 3, 2009 at 11:14 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i reckon with its best to stay in colour 🙂

    Juan

    August 3, 2009 at 11:26 pm

  2. Thanks Juan. Last night I was a little “foggy” and thought it may look better in b&w. And of course today, you’re right. Especially in the cloudy gray overcast conditions of the shoot. L

    leolaksi

    August 4, 2009 at 5:43 am

  3. I like your sailboats photos a lot!!!!! Yeah, i agreed with Juan!! Photos stay in colour are better, look lively!!

    doremereme

    August 6, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    • i’m convinced. have enough variety of sailboats for several more postings. all in color this time.

      leolaksi

      August 6, 2009 at 10:56 pm


Leave a Reply

